MindThread vs Buffer, Hootsuite, Later, Metricool and Typefully: Threads Features and Pricing Side by Side (checked 2026-10-08)
Quotable fact: Checked against official pages on 2026-10-08, Buffer, Hootsuite, Later, Metricool and Typefully can all schedule Threads posts; none of their official pages shows a Traditional Chinese interface or NT$ pricing.
On automated replies, Hootsuite's plans page lists automated inbox replies from Professional up without saying they cover Threads; the other four official sites show no automated sending of replies that covers Threads (checked 2026-10-08). MindThread's site is in Traditional Chinese and English, bills in NT$, and its AI replies to comments under your own posts through Meta's official Threads API.
Summary: All five general schedulers schedule Threads, show analytics and mostly offer a manual inbox. The differences are automated replies, Traditional Chinese, NT$ billing, focus and price position. Every cell has a source; unverifiable cells say not found.
How to read this table
- "Yes" and "No" only where an official page confirms it. "Not found" is not "does not exist".
- Competitor prices are the USD figures on their official pages, which mostly show the annual-billing monthly equivalent. Where monthly billing is not displayed, the cell says not found rather than an estimate.
- MindThread figures come from its pricing section and /faq (2026-10-04). Prices are in NT$; USD is approximate.
- "Comment replies" uses three labels: manual (a person replies from an inbox), AI-suggested (the system drafts, a person sends), automated (the system sends).
- "Keyword monitoring" means finding other people's public posts or conversations by keyword. It is a different thing from replying to comments on your own posts.
Comparison table (checked 2026-10-04; competitor prices and plans re-checked 2026-10-08)
| Item | MindThread | Buffer | Hootsuite | Later | Metricool | Typefully |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Threads support since | Threads-only product; company founded 2023 (source: mindthread.tw/llms.txt); product launch date not shown on public pages | 2024-06-25 (official blog) | 2024-03-01 (official blog; describes itself as a Meta Business Partner and one of the first to launch a Threads integration) | Not found | 2024-06-19 (official blog) | Beta since 2024-08-27 (changelog) |
| Networks | Threads; Instagram and Facebook Pages in internal testing since 2026-09, manual publishing | Multi-platform | Multi-platform | Multi-platform | Multi-platform | Text networks: X, LinkedIn, Threads, Bluesky, Mastodon, Substack |
| Technical path | Meta official Threads API plus OAuth 2.0 (core); optional browser patrol that bypasses the API (grey area, Taiwan only); accounts on the official API can still be restricted or asked to verify by Meta, so no zero-ban claim | Official API | Official API | Official API | Official API | Official API |
| Scheduling | Yes: content library with random rotation, fixed times or a daily window, thread mode, publish_at via API; per-account posting time zone and content language (Chinese or English, source: /en) | Yes: text, up to 20 images, 1 video, carousels, ghost posts; threads up to 25 posts; one topic tag; up to 5 links | Yes, web only; Streams do not support Threads | Yes; Threads scheduling works on desktop and iOS, not Android, Auto Publish only (help centre) | Yes: up to 80 posts per thread; Autolists for recurring queues | Yes: drafts, scheduling, publishing, cross-posting, AI rewrite, media |
| Analytics | Yes: views, likes, replies, reposts; weekly report | Yes: views, reactions, comments, shares, follows, engagement rate; free plan shows 30 days | Yes: engagement rate, impressions, likes, replies, quotes, reposts, shares, followers, profile views | Official page: "real-time engagement and impressions analytics" | Yes: follower growth, engagement, post count, audience profile, reach; scheduled report emails | Pricing page lists X analytics only (Creator and up), not Threads |
| Comment replies (on your own posts) | Automated: AI replies in the reply style you set, through the official API; preset fixed replies can alternate with AI; Free plan up to 2 auto-replies per post | Manual plus AI-suggested: Community collects comments, suggested replies still need a person to send | Manual: Inbox shows and answers Threads public comments; Professional and up also lists "Automate inbox replies and workflows" and AI smart replies, not stated whether they cover Threads (checked 2026-10-07) | Social inbox lists Instagram, Facebook and TikTok only | Inbox on the pricing page does not list Threads; Flows auto-replies list Instagram and TikTok only | Not found |
| Keyword monitoring (other people's posts) | Yes: cloud patrol uses official API keyword search, 1 to 10 keywords per account, off by default, optional approve-before-send, each sent reply costs 1 patrol point (source: /haixun, llms.txt Developer API section) | Not found (official page mentions viewing trending topics only) | Listening lists Threads; mention tracking and search need Enterprise; June 2026 announcement: monitor public conversations on pages you do not own, 400 days of history, up to 5,000 posts, plan not stated | Not found | Not found | Not found |
| Multi-account | Free 1, Connect 3, Pro up to 10, Business up to 50; separate persona, schedule and analytics per account | Yes, each Threads account needs a linked Instagram account; free plan 3 channels | Standard 10 social accounts; Professional and up unlimited | Starter 1 social set (8 profiles); Growth 2; Scale 6; extra sets from Growth up, $11.25/mo each billed yearly or $15 monthly (not available on Starter) | Free 1 brand; Starter 5 to 10; Advanced 15 to 50; Custom unlimited | Billed per social set: Free 1, Creator 1, Business up to 50 |
| Traditional Chinese UI | Website and blog in Traditional Chinese and English; parts of the logged-in dashboard still being localised to English (source: mindthread.tw/llms.txt) | Site in en, de, es, fr, it, nl, pt; help centre code lists zh-tw but no Chinese content retrieved; product UI not found | Dashboard in 8 languages (English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Arabic, Japanese), no Chinese | Help centre en-us only; product UI not found | Site in 8 languages (de, en, es, fr, it, nl, pt, pt-BR), no Chinese | Site lang=en; other languages not found |
| NT$ pricing | Yes: Free NT$0; Connect NT$990/mo; Pro NT$1,990/mo; Business NT$5,990/mo (source: mindthread.tw/faq) | Not found (USD, UK VAT mentioned) | Not found | Not found (page states "Prices are billed in USD") | Not found (EUR and USD) | Not found |
| Cheapest paid plan with Threads | Connect NT$990/mo (about US$32), 3 accounts | Essentials $60/channel/year (about $5/mo) | Standard $99/user/mo (annual) | Starter $18.75/mo billed yearly, $25 monthly | Starter from $20/mo billed yearly, from $25 monthly | Free $0 already posts to Threads (1 social set, 10 posts a month); cheapest paid plan Creator $99/year (annual only) |
| Other plans | Pro NT$1,990/mo (NT$21,492/year); Business NT$5,990/mo (NT$64,692/year); annual about 10% off; crypto charged at the listed US dollar price | Team $120/channel/year (about $10/mo) | Professional $199, Advanced $399 (annual); Enterprise custom | Growth $37.50, Scale $82.50 (billed yearly) | Advanced from $53/mo billed yearly; Custom on request | Business $18 per social set per month billed yearly, or $20 monthly, up to 50 |
| Monthly billing price | Figures above are monthly | Essentials $6 per channel, Team $12 | Hootsuite says monthly billing exists; the plans page does not list monthly prices | Starter $25, Growth $50, Scale $110 | Starter from $25, Advanced from $67 (from $20 and $53 billed yearly) | Creator annual only; Business $20 per social set |
| Free plan or trial | Free forever (1 account, 3 posts a day, 3 AI generations a day); new sign-ups get 7 days at Connect level, no card | Free forever (3 channels, 10 scheduled posts each); 14-day trial on paid plans | No permanent free plan; 14-day free trial on every plan, no credit card | 14-day trial; the pricing page lists no permanent free plan while the help centre says Threads scheduling is on all plans including Free (the two pages disagree, 2026-10-08) | Free (1 brand, 20 posts a month, 1 Threads account) | Free $0 (1 social set, 10 posts a month, includes Threads) |
The ceiling all six share: the official Threads API
Any tool on the official API lives under the same limits (source: developers.facebook.com/documentation/threads pages, 2026-10-04):
- 250 API posts and 1,000 replies per account per 24 hours.
- 500 characters per post; one topic tag per post.
- Images up to 8MB, videos up to 5 minutes, carousels of 2 to 20 items.
- To search public posts automatically, a tool must first pass Meta's review for the threads_keyword_search permission; each user can then search at most 2,200 times per 24 hours.
- Threads' official API has no DM endpoint and no scheduling parameter: every tool stores the post on its own servers and sends it when the time comes.
When a tool says "unlimited posts", it means the size of its queue, not the official limit.
Six differences that can be stated honestly
- Traditional Chinese and NT$: checked on 2026-10-08, none of the five competitors' websites or pricing pages shows a Traditional Chinese version or NT$ prices; Hootsuite's help centre lists 8 dashboard languages without Chinese, and the logged-in interface languages of the other four were not checked. MindThread's site is in Traditional Chinese, bills in NT$, and support hours follow Taiwan time (UTC+8). Add the caveat: parts of the dashboard are still being localised to English.
- How comments get answered: Buffer and Hootsuite offer an inbox where a person replies, Buffer with AI-suggested drafts; Hootsuite's Professional and higher plans also list automated inbox replies, without saying whether they cover Threads comments; the official pages of Later, Metricool and Typefully show no automated sending that covers Threads (Metricool Flows lists Instagram and TikTok only, checked 2026-10-08); we record only what official websites state, so a feature missing from a website means we could not confirm it, not that it does not exist. MindThread's AI replies to comments under your own posts directly.
- Focus: only Typefully leans toward text networks; the other four are general multi-platform schedulers; MindThread does Threads only (Instagram and Facebook Pages in testing). Multi-platform is their strength, Threads depth is MindThread's.
- Price position: the cheapest paid plan with Threads is cheaper at Buffer ($5 per channel billed yearly, $6 monthly), Later ($18.75 billed yearly, $25 monthly), Metricool (from $20 billed yearly, $25 monthly) and Typefully (Creator $99 a year) than MindThread Connect (about $32/mo); Hootsuite ($99 per user per month, billed yearly) is more expensive. One MindThread Connect price covers 3 accounts and auto-reply, about NT$330 per account per month.
- Multi-account: one dashboard for many accounts is common to all six, not anyone's exclusive; Hootsuite Professional and up is unlimited, MindThread Business goes to 50. The difference is that every MindThread account gets its own automated replies.
- Keyword monitoring: Hootsuite has Threads Listening on the official API layer (Enterprise, or the June 2026 feature); MindThread's cloud patrol uses official API keyword search with 1 to 10 keywords per account, off by default; Buffer, Later, Metricool and Typefully: not found.
Working out cost per account per month
Divide the plan's monthly price by the number of accounts you will actually run, then check that the plan includes the features you need.
- Buffer Essentials: about $5 per channel per month (annual); 3 Threads accounts about $15/mo; each Threads account needs a linked Instagram account.
- Later Starter: $18.75/mo billed yearly, $25 monthly, 1 social set with 8 profiles.
- Metricool Starter: from $20/mo billed yearly, from $25 monthly, 5 to 10 brands.
- Hootsuite Standard: $99 per user per month (annual), 10 social accounts.
- MindThread Connect: NT$990/mo (about $32), 3 accounts, with AI auto-reply, unlimited posts and AI generation; Pro NT$1,990 up to 10; Business NT$5,990 up to 50.
- Typefully: Free $0; Creator $99 a year (annual only); Business $18 per social set per month (billed yearly).
Which one, when
- Threads is one piece of a multi-network matrix and scheduling Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn from one place matters more: Buffer, Hootsuite, Later, Metricool.
- You mainly write for text networks such as X, LinkedIn, Threads and Bluesky: Typefully.
- You want comments under your own Threads posts answered by the system, a persona per account, and a Traditional Chinese site with NT$ billing: MindThread. If you want an AI agent to drive it through API or MCP, Buffer, Typefully, Metricool and Hootsuite also list API or MCP on their official pages; MindThread lets each key be set to allow, ask or deny for each kind of action.
- You need large-scale listening across social, web and news: Hootsuite's Enterprise tier, or Sprout Social and Vista Social, which this page does not compare.
Not sure which route yet? Start with How to choose a Threads auto-posting tool: four routes. For one account that only needs pre-scheduled posts, see Is Threads native scheduling enough?; for Taiwan tools and multi-platform GTM, see MindThread vs 脆脆發 and MindThread vs ViralArc (in Traditional Chinese).
Not found or uncertain (not to be stated as fact)
- Typefully's Threads comment replies.
- Hootsuite's monthly prices (Hootsuite says monthly billing exists; the plans page does not list it).
- Later's Threads start date and whether a permanent free plan exists (the pricing page and help centre disagree).
- The plan required for Hootsuite's June 2026 Threads monitoring; whether inbox automation applies to Threads.
- Logged-in product UI language for all five competitors (only website or help centre languages were checked).
- NT$ pricing at all five competitors (not found on websites or pricing pages, which is not "none").
- Whether automated reply sending at the five competitors covers Threads comments (Hootsuite Professional and up lists automated inbox replies and Metricool Flows lists Instagram and TikTok, neither names Threads; 2026-10-08).
FAQ
Can Buffer schedule Threads posts?
Yes. Buffer announced on 2024-06-25 that every plan including Free can connect Threads, with text, images, video, carousels and threads of up to 25 posts; each Threads account needs a linked Instagram account (source: buffer.com/threads, support.buffer.com, 2026-10-04).
What does Hootsuite support on Threads?
Scheduling (web only), analytics, and Inbox replies to public comments; Listening lists Threads as a source, with mention tracking and search on Enterprise; Streams do not support Threads (source: hootsuite.com/threads, hootsuite.com/plans, 2026-10-04).
What is the biggest difference between MindThread and these general schedulers?
MindThread does Threads only: AI replies to comments on your own posts, a persona and schedule per account, AI writing, all on Meta's official API, with a Traditional Chinese site and NT$ billing. General schedulers win on running many networks from one dashboard.
Is MindThread cheaper than Buffer?
No. Buffer Essentials is about $5 per channel per month (annual); MindThread Connect is NT$990/mo, about $32, including 3 accounts, auto-reply, unlimited posts and AI generation. Use cost per account per month to compare.
Will these tools ask for my Threads password?
All six in the table use Meta's official API with OAuth and do not need it. MindThread also offers an optional browser patrol extension that works inside your own logged-in browser without the official API; it is a grey area, Taiwan only, and off by default.
Sources (checked 2026-10-04; competitor prices and plans re-checked 2026-10-08)
- Buffer: buffer.com/threads; buffer.com/pricing; buffer.com/resources/buffers-threads-integration/; support.buffer.com/article/857-using-threads-with-buffer
- Hootsuite: hootsuite.com/threads; hootsuite.com/plans; blog.hootsuite.com/how-to-schedule-threads-posts-instagram/; help.hootsuite.com/hc/en-us/articles/23918210820507-Connect-a-Threads-account; blog.hootsuite.com/new-features-june-2026/
- Later: later.com/threads-scheduler/; later.com/pricing/; help.later.com/hc/en-us/articles/28404295734039-Schedule-Publish-Threads-Posts (checked 2026-10-08)
- Metricool: metricool.com/instagram-threads-on-metricool/; metricool.com/pricing/; metricool.com/threads/
- Typefully: typefully.com/changelog/threads-by-meta-integration-now-in-beta-100; typefully.com/pricing
- Threads API: developers.facebook.com/documentation/threads/overview; /posts; /keyword-search; /retrieve-and-manage-replies/create-replies
- MindThread: mindthread.tw/llms.txt; mindthread.tw/en; mindthread.tw/haixun; mindthread.tw/faq